Beatitudes 5:4

Another drawing in the Beatitudes series, drawing- graphite on wood, silver leaf, acrylic. The artwork measures 2ft x4ft.

On my blog I have the steps this piece took up to finish – you can view it here

Beatitudes series are a series of mixed media artworks: graphite drawing and silver leaf on wood surface. Concept: The title of the series, “The Beatitudes” refers directly to set of teachings by Jesus that appear in the Gospels of Matthew and Luke, expressed as eight blessings in the Sermon on the Mount in Matthew.
Graphite drawing is predominant throughout the artwork. I also use metal leaf, an influence from Byzantine Art.

The Beatitudes:
Blessed are…

…the poor in spirit: for theirs is the kingdom of heaven. (5:3)
…those who mourn: for they will be comforted. (5:4)
…the meek: for they will inherit the earth. (5:5)
…those who hunger and thirst for righteousness: for they will be filled. (5:6)
…the merciful: for they will be shown mercy. (5:7)
…the pure in heart: for they will see God. (5:8)
…the peacemakers: for they will be called children of God. (5:9)
…those who are persecuted for righteousness’ sake: for theirs is the kingdom of heaven. (5:10)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s